Police Academy Alternate Route Program

BCPA Logo

Orientation Day

Saturday, April 13, 2024 @11:00AM

2024 ALTERNATE ROUTE PROGRAM ANNOUNCEMENT

The Bergen County Police Academy will participate in the Alternate Route Program for our July 2024, and January 2025 Basic Course for Police Officers classes. The selection process will begin in February 2024 with no more than 200 applicants being accepted for the examination.

Applications will be distributed during the mandatory orientation session (Saturday April 13, 2024, at 11:00 a.m.). You are only required to attend one session. The orientations will be conducted at the Bergen County Law and Public Safety Institute, “Hall of Heroes” (281 Campgaw Road, Mahwah NJ). Please review the below information.

DO NOT CALL THE POLICE ACADEMY – ALL QUESTIONS WILL BE ANSWERED AT THE ORIENTATION

The Alternate Route Program (N.J.S.A. 52:17B-69.1) was designed to give individuals interested in becoming police officers, the opportunity to attend a certified police training academy at their own expense, prior to being hired by a law enforcement agency.

Although successful completion of the program does not guarantee a candidate a position in law enforcement, graduates will have received training from a certified police academy and are able to pursue employment as a certified police officer for a 3-year period from date of graduation.

The Basic Course for Police Officers is currently 22 weeks in duration at the Bergen County Police Academy.

Eligibility Requirements:

  • Must be a Citizen of the United States
  • Must have a valid NJ Driver’s License
  • Must be at least 18 years of age and not over 35 at the completion of the program
  • Must have completed 60 college credits with a GPA of 2.5 or above prior to the first day of training or 2 years of active military service or a combination of the two. Applicants must supply a copy of their DD214 as proof of military service.
  • Must be a resident of the State of New Jersey prior to entrance into the academy
  • Must be of good moral character and not convicted of any criminal offense.
  • Must be in good health, sound physical condition and able to participate in a rigorous physical training program.
  • Able to read, write, and speak the English language well and intelligently

Selection Criteria:

  • Mandatory Orientation attendance
  • Application
  • Written examination
  • Physical fitness test
  • Interview
  • Medical examination including stress and drug tests
  • Psychological examination
  • Background investigation

As a reminder, applicants must attend a mandatory orientation session prior to applying to the Alternate Route Program. This orientation will explain all of the necessary steps in the process. Applicants must attend the orientation session on Saturday April 13, 2024, at 11:00 a.m. Please have your smartphones in your possession at the orientation and dress in proper attire.

DO NOT CALL THE POLICE ACADEMY – ALL QUESTIONS WILL BE ANSWERED AT THE ORIENTATION

Contact Us

Bergen County Police Academy Director
Kenneth R. Ehrenberg, ESQ.
Email: kehrenberg@co.bergen.nj.us

Police Academy Liasion Officer
SGT. Ronald Salzano
Phone: 201-226-5880
Email: rsalzano@bcpo.net

Lead Training Advisor
LT. Jennifer Rueda
Phone: 201-226-5751
Email: jrueda@bcpo.net

Police Academy Compliancy Officer
CHIEF A.P. Michael R. Philips, ESQ.
Phone: 201-226-5642
Email: mphilips@bcpo.net

In-Service Training Liasion / Training Advisor
DET. Claudia Maietta
Phone: 201-226-5514
Email: cmaietta@bcpo.net

Senior Recruit Training Advisor
S.O. Daniel Solares
Phone: 201-226-5872
Email: dsolares@bcsd.us

Range Master(s)
LT. John Lind
Phone: 201-226-5861
Email: jlind@bcsd.us

S.O. Marcello Hagopian
Phone: 201-226-5862
Email: mhagopian@bcsd.us

In-Service Training
Paralegal Laura Sans
Phone: 201-226-5825
Email: lsans@bcpo.net

Recruit Training Advisors
CAPT. Ryan King
Phone: 201-785-5727
Email: rking@bclpsi.net

P.O. David Affinito
Phone: 201-226-5824
Email: daffinito@patersonpdnj.gov

S.O. Alejandro Tapia
Phone: 201-785-5726
Email: atapia@bclpsi.net

S.O. Rich Donohue
Phone: 201-785-5728
Email: rdonohue@bclpsi.net

Alternate Route Program
CHIEF (RET.) Robert Peacock
Phone: 201-785-5703
Email: peacock@bclpsi.net

 Bergen County Law & Public Safety Institute

281 Campgaw Road • Mahwah, NJ 07430

Phone: 201-785-5700
Hours: Mon - Fri 8am - 4:30pm