All Hazard Mitigation Plan

Bergen County Multi-Jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) in accordance with the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000 (44 CFR parts 201 & 206) mandated that all jurisdictions (municipalities and counties) develop comprehensive natural hazard mitigation plans by November 01, 2003. Jurisdictions that completed a plan are eligible for Hazard Mitigation Grant funding following a Presidential declared disaster.

The mitigation plan identifies risk and hazards in communities and strategies to lessen the impact of them. Mitigation activities are those that protect life and property and lessen funding for repetitive losses during a disaster. BCOEM (Bergen County Office of Emergency Management) proposed to FEMA and NJOEM (New Jersey Office of Emergency Management) that a County-wide plan would be better for Bergen (rather than 70 individual plans). The State and municipalities agreed. Other counties have since adopted this format. The New Jersey Meadowlands Commission (NJMC) volunteered to develop the plan for Bergen and its municipalities. NJMC had the technical expertise to compile a meaningful mitigation plan. The initial plan was completed in 2008 and expired in 2013. Due to the recovery efforts of Hurricane Sandy, the re-writing of the plan was delayed. A letter of extraordinary circumstances was obtained from FEMA so that no municipality would lose funding due to the plan expiring. On April 13, 2015 FEMA approved the new Bergen County Multi-Jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan. The plan is due for re-certification in 2020 and allows for the County and all 70 municipalities to be eligible to apply for the following grant programs: 

  • Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP)F
  • Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA)
  • Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM)
  • Severe repetitive Loss (SRL)

To download a copy of Bergen County's approved 2015 Multi-Jurisdictional Hazard Mitigation Plan (711 pages) please click here 

For more information on FEMA's Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, please click here 

Contact Us

Sgt. Matthew J. Tiedemann, CEM, CPM

County Coordinator

Evelyn Powell

Executive Administrative Assistant

 Bergen County Department of Public Safety

Division of Emergency Management

285 Campgaw Road • Mahwah, NJ 07430

Hours: Mon - Fri 8am - 5pm