The Department of Law

The Department of Law encompasses the Office of County Counsel, (the County Counsel serves as the department director) Office of the Inspector General and the County Adjuster. The County Counsel's office serves as legal counsel to the County Executive, as well as the eight County government departments, and the offices of the County Clerk, Surrogate, Sheriff and Prosecutor.