## IMPORTANT PUBLIC NOTICE TO ALL VOTERS AND NON-REGISTERED CITIZENS OF BERGEN COUNTY

In order to vote in the Municipal Election, you must be registered.

## THE MUNICIPAL ELECTION WILL BE HELD ON: TUESDAY, MAY 14, 2024 POLL OPENINGS CHECK YOUR TOWN FOR HOURS

The following offices will be open from 8:30 AM to 9:00 PM evening registration hours only on the deadline date Tuesday, April 23, 2024 (National Voter Registration Act)

All Municipal Clerks' offices
Superintendent of Elections Office
One Bergen County Plaza, Room 380, Hackensack, NJ 07601

IN ORDER TO REGISTER TO VOTE, YOU MUST BE:

- 1. A UNITED STATES CITIZEN
- 2. A RESIDENT OF BERGEN COUNTY FOR AT LEAST 30 DAYS.
- 3. 18 YEARS OLD ON OR BEFORE THE NEXT ELECTION
- 4. A PERSON WHO IS: NOT SERVING A SENTENCE OR IS
  NOT ON PAROLE OR PROBATION AS THE RESULT OF A
  CONVICTION OF ANY INDICTABLE OFFENSE UNDER THE LAWS OF THIS OR
  ANOTHER STATE OR OF THE UNITED STATES.
- 5. VETERANS WHO VOTED WHILE IN MILITARY SERVICE BUT WERE NOT REGISTERED BEFORE MILITARY SERVICE, MUST REGISTER ON THEIR RETURN TO CIVILIAN STATUS.

TO QUALIFY TO VOTE:

A voter who is registered in one election district and who moves to another residence in Bergen County should transfer his/her registration to assure that he/she will be able to vote in the proper election district without being required to take additional steps. This is accomplished by informing the Commissioner of Registration in writing. Such notice must be signed by each voter. Change of residence cards can be obtained at the offices of the Commissioner of Registration or Offices of the Municipal Clerks.

## NAME CHANGE

When a voter changes his/her name due to marriage, divorce, or judgment of the court - the voter is NOT REQUIRED TO REREGISTER.

VETERANSMILITARY SERVICE; Veterans who voted while in Military Service but were not registered before Military Service must register on their return to Civilian status. You must register before the Deadline Date.

## **CHANGE OF ADDRESS**

In the case of the notice published during the calendar week next preceding the week in which the School Election is held, that a voter who, prior to the election, shall have moved within the same county without:

- (i) filing, on or before the 21 <sup>ST</sup> day preceding the election, a notice of change of residence with the commissioner of registration of the county or the municipal clerk of the municipality in which the voter resides on the day of the election, (ii) returning the confirmation notice sent to the voter by the commissioner of registration of the county, if such a notice has been sent to the voter, or
- (iii) otherwise notifying the commissioner of registration of the voters change of address within the county shall be permitted to correct the voter's registration and to vote in the School Election by provisional ballot at the polling place of the district in which the voter resides on the day of the election.

You may request mail registration forms from your Municipal Clerk's office. Voting Accessibility for the Elderly and Handicapped Act of 1984 (Public Law 98435), a telecommunications device for the deaf (TDD) is maintained at the Election Division, Dept.

of State, Trenton, NJ. To obtain General Voter Information, dial - 1-800-292-0039. All polling places in Bergen County will be equipped with audio voting for the blind. Voters who have difficulty voting due to blindness, disability, or an inability to read or write may bring a person to assist them at the polls or may ask for assistance

from the poll workers. Sample ballots are mailed to every registered voter the week prior to the election listing the offices, candidates, and public questions to be voted upon along with your election voting districts number and polling location.

POLL HOURS – 6:00 A.M. until 8:00 P.M.

TOWNS SEATS OPEN – FULL FOUR-YEAR TERM

(VOTE FOR FIVE)

RIDGEFIELD PARK - FOR COMMISSIONER

THIS WILL BE YOUR ONLY LEGAL PUBLIC NOTICE OF REGISTRATION HOURS AND SEATS OPEN FOR THE MUNICIPAL ELECTION.

RICHARD L. MILLER DENISE ROSS

CHAIRMAN SECRETARY/COMMISSIONER

MARGARET E. FRONTERA ANGELA M. MALAGIERE

COMMISSIONER COMMISSIONER

JOHN L. SCHETTINO, ESQ. TOMAS J. PADILLA COMMISSIONER COMMISSIONER